
Connecticut General Statute 27-103  
RELEVANT DATES of WAR 

  

World War II 

 December 7, 1941 to December 31, 19461 

  
Korean Conflict      

 June 27, 1950 to January 31, 1955 
  

Vietnam Era       

 February 28, 1961 to July 1, 1975 
  

Lebanon  
 July 1, 1958 to November 1, 1958 or 

 September 29, 1982 to March 30, 19842 

  

Invasion of Grenada 

 October 25, 1983 to December 15, 19832 

  

Operation Earnest Will 
 July 24, 1987 to August 1, 19902 

      (Operation Earnest Will involving the escort of 

Kuwaiti oil tankers flying the United States flag in the 
Persian Gulf) 

  
Invasion of Panama 

 December 20, 1989 to January 31, 19902 

  
Persian Gulf War     

 After August 2, 19903 
  

“and shall include service during such periods with the 
armed forces of any government associated with the 

United States.” 

  
ALSO ELIGIBLE:  If DD214 is recorded in another 

Connecticut town before October 1, 1977 and having 
served during above period less than 90 days  

  
1 Pursuant to § 12-86, twelve o’clock midnight on December 31, 

 1947 is the World War II termination date for purposes of 
 granting a property tax exemption. 
  
2 A person must have served in a combat or combat support 

 role for the duration of a campaign lasting less than 90 days
 (i.e., the Invasions of Grenada and Panama) in order to 
 qualify for a property tax exemption.  A person must also 
 have served in a combat or combat support role in Lebanon 
or  in Operation Earnest Will, during the specified dates, in order 
 to qualify for an exemption.  An Armed Forces Expeditionary 
 Medal is awarded to such individuals. 

  
3 Although referred to as the Persian Gulf War, service in the   
 Persian Gulf is not required, nor is service in a combat or 
 combat support role. 
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AVAILABLE  

TAX RELIEF  

PROGRAMS 

  

Monday 

Tuesday 

Wednesday 

Thursday 

Friday 

8:30 am to 4:30 pm 

8:30 am to 4:30 pm 

8:30 am to 4:30 pm 

8:30 am to 7:00 pm 

8:30 am to 1:00 pm 

 

 

 

 

http://www.eastwindsor-ct.gov/


Connecticut law provides for exemption 
programs and tax relief for certain QUALIFIED 

TAXPAYERS.  The programs are as follows: 
  
 

Elderly or Disabled Homeowners 
 

Renter Rebates 
(Contact Human Services 860-623-2430) 

 
Veterans 

 
Active Armed Forces 

 
Totally Disabled 

 
Modified Motor Vehicles for handicapped 

drivers/passengers 
 

Blind 
  

You must be a resident of the State of 
Connecticut and the following requirements 
must be met in order to be eligible for these 

programs. 
  

NOTE:  

FOR COPIES OF DISCHARGE RECORDS (DD-214) 
 

Contact the National Archives and Records 
Administration for discharge records if you do not have 

your original document. 
 

http://www.archives.gov/veterans/evetrecs/index.h
tml 
 
Telephone:  1-866-272-6272 
 
Mail: The National Archives and Records 
 Admin., 8601 Adelphi Road 
 College Park, MD  20740-6001  
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ADDITIONAL DISABILITY EXEMPTION 
  

Connecticut General Statute 12-81i provides for an 
additional local option exemption for any person receiving 

an exemption under §12-81 (55).  To qualify: 

  
1. A person must be receiving the SS Disabled 

exemption according to C.G.S. 12-81 (55).  
2. Qualify by income. For income requirements and 

type of proof for income, see Homeowner’s 
section. 

3. This is a biennial filing between February 

1st and October 1st 
  

BLIND 
  

C.G.S. 12-81 (17) provides for an exemption in the 

amount of $3,000 on the assessment of the property 
owned by, or held in trust for, a person who is blind. 

Requirements for granting the Blind Exemption are: 
  

1. Must provide the Assessor with a “Certification 
of Legal Blindness” as received from: 

 

State of Connecticut 
Department of Human Resources 

Board of Education and Services for the Blind 
170 Ridge Road 

Wethersfield, CT  06109 
 

2. Eligibility for exemption must be proved and 

application made by January 31. 
  

ADDITIONAL BLIND EXEMPTION 
  

Connecticut General Statute 12-81j provides for an 
additional local exemption for any person receiving an 

exemption under §12-81 (17).  To qualify: 

  
1. A person must be receiving the blind exemption 

according to C.G.S. 12-81 (17).  
2. Qualify by income. For income requirements and 

types of proof for income, see Homeowner’s 

section. 
3. This is a biennial filing between February 

1st and October 1st 
  

HANDICAPPED ADAPTED MOTOR VEHICLES 
   

Connecticut General Statute 12-81c and Local Ordinance 

#86-2 provide for a total exemption of any motor vehicle 
which is handicapped-equipped with special hand controls 

or other adaptations for physically disabled passengers 
and/or drivers, or a motor vehicle which is used 

exclusively for the purpose of transporting any medically 

incapacitated individual, except any vehicle used to 
transport individuals for payment.  

The application can be obtained at the Assessor’s        
office or the Town’s website and must be filed by 

November 1st. 



  

  

 

ACTIVE SERVICEMEN 
  

C.G.S. 12-81 (53)(a) provides for the exemption of one 

motor vehicle belonging to, leased to or held in trust for, 
any member of the United States Armed Forces.   

  
Current National Guard and Air National Guard also 

qualify for this exemption. 

  
1. Application forms are to be obtained from the 

Assessor’s office or online from the Town 
website. 

 
2. Filing Deadline:  Filing is to be not later than 

December 31st following the date the property 

tax is due. 
  

  
FEDERAL SOLDIERS & SAILORS RELIEF ACT - 

  

Non-Resident 
     

If you are based in Connecticut on orders but are a legal 
resident of another State, you also qualify for an 

exemption for any motor vehicles registered to you or 
your spouse in the State.     

Application forms for this exemption may be obtained      

by contacting the Assessor’s office or online on the Town’s 
website. 

  
SOCIAL SECURITY DISABLED 

  

C.G.S. 12-81 (55) provides for an exemption in the 
amount of $1,000 on the assessment of the property 

owned by, or held in trust for, a person who is disabled 
and receiving Social Security disability benefits if they: 

  

1. Qualify in accordance with federal regulations, 
to     receive permanent total disability benefits 

under      Social Security; or qualify for 
permanent total       disability benefits under a 

federal, state or local government retirement or 
disability plan, including the Railroad Retirement 

Act; 

 
2. Present to the Assessor a current original 

Certificate of Award letter from Social Security 
or current documentation from the Department 

of Social Security, or their doctor if they did not 

work under a Social Security plan (to be 
submitted to OPM for approval); and 

 
3. Sign and file the prescribed form with the 

Assessor by January 31. 
 

 

 
 

 
 

 

 
HOMEOWNERS   

Connecticut General Statutes provide for a credit 
to be applied to the annual real estate tax bill of 

certain qualified taxpayers. In addition there is a 
matching Town program.  To qualify for both: 

  

1. You must own and reside at the property for 
which tax relief is sought.  You may have Life Use 

or be a part owner of the property. 
 

2. You, or your spouse, must have been 65 years of 

age at the close of the calendar year preceding 
your application or you must be over 18 and 

permanently and totally disabled. 
 

3. There is an income limit for this program.  Income 
includes pension, wages, interest on accounts 

etc. and Social Security — for both persons if 

married.  The limits are set each year by the State 
of Connecticut and are subject to change.  You 

may call the Assessor’s office to determine the 
current income limits. 

 

4. You must provide the Assessor with a copy of 
your federal income tax return, if you file one, 

and your SSA 1099 from Social Security and/ or 
Railroad Retirement.  Statements for all taxable 

and nontaxable income must be provided if an 

income tax return is not filed, including Veterans 
pension and disability payment statements. 

  
5. Applications must be filed between 

February 1 and May 15, in the Assessor’s 
Office. After the initial application, they must be 

filed every two years.  

  
LOCAL OPTION HOMEOWNERS 

  
As of the October 2023 Grand List, a local program was 

enacted to allow an additional $250 credit to taxpayers 

who qualify for the State & Local Homeowners programs 
described above.   

 (Note :A mobile home owner may file for a benefit as a 
renter OR homeowner but not both) 

 
(For Renters rebate program information please 

contact the Social Services office at: 860-623-2430) 

 
 
  

 

  



VETERANS 
  

A veteran is defined in the statutes within Connecticut 
General Statutes 27-103.  The veteran must meet the 

following criteria to qualify for an exemption: 

  
1. Must be a resident of the State of Connecticut and 

must have an Honorable Discharge or certain 
“Other Than Honorable” discharges as defined in 

PA 18-47 (related to PTSD or TBI)  
 

2. Served active duty for ninety or more cumulative 

days except, if the war, campaign or other 
operation lasted less than ninety days (see back 

of pamphlet) 
 

3. A person who has not served in a conflict period 
but is entitled to a disability pension as 

determined by the Veteran’s Administration 
 

4. A serviceman who is in continuous service and 

has previous conflict period service 
 

5. A person who has their DD214 recorded in 
another Connecticut town before October 1, 1977 

and has served during a “conflict period” less 
than 90 days 

  

A person may file an original or certified copy of their 
DD214 (discharge papers) BEFORE OCTOBER 1 with 

the Town Clerk’s Office to be eligible for the exemption 
on the Oct 1 Grand List. 
 

If you move within the State of Connecticut, you must file 

your discharge paperwork with the Town Clerk’s office in 

the town in which you moved by October 1. “Portability” 
provisions exist between Connecticut towns if the DD214 

is not filed timely when you move from one town to 
another. This needs to be processed by the assessors in 

each town. If you move back to a town where you had 
previously filed, please notify the Assessor’s Office in that 

Town. 

  

DISABLED VETERANS 
 

Increased exemption amounts are available to Veterans 
who are rated more than 10% service connected 

disabled by the VA. Submit a copy of the Veteran’s 

Disability Rating, via either a Form 20-5455 or a letter 
from the Veteran’s Administration in accordance with 

CGS 12-81(20) to the assessor in order to qualify. 
 

A veteran must submit the proper paperwork just once, 
unless the VA modifies the disability rating. If modified, 

the veteran must provide a copy of the new rating or 
forfeit the exemption until proof of the new rating is 

provided to the assessor. 
 

Upon turning the age of 65, a disabled veteran’s 

exemption will automatically become equal to a 100% 
rating. 
 

**“PORTABILITY” of EXEMPTION 
 

C.G.S Sec. 12-81cc allows for the portability of certain 
veterans' property exemptions- those allowed under 

subdivisions (19), (20), (22), (23), (24), (25), (26), (28) 
or (53) of C.G.S Section 12-81.  If a person has moved 

within the state during the year, they may request a letter 
of eligibility be given to the Assessor in their current town 

from the Assessor in the prior town. This statute allows 

any person eligible to receive an exemption in the town 
they moved from, and did not receive their exemption, to 

have that exemption forwarded to another town.  Such 
person must submit proof of future eligibility by filing their 

DD214 in the new town of residence. 
 

ADDITIONAL VETERAN’S EXEMPTION 
 

A veteran receiving the regular veteran’s exemption, will 
qualify for an additional exemption, provided by 

Connecticut General Statute 12-81f.  This is equal to half 

the regular exemption and is applied automatically. 
 

Alternatively, lower income veterans may qualify for an 
additional exemption equal to double the base exemption. 

The income requirements are the same as those for the 
State Homeowner Benefit program. (see #3 under 

“Homeowners” section). The application  filing period for 
this program is February 1 thru October 1 for the 

exemption to be effective on the Grand List of October 

1st. 
 

An additional $6000 exemption is available through the 
local option program whose qualifications mirror State 

program guidelines and income requirements. 
 

Please bring the required proof of income as stated under 
Homeowner benefits. However, please NOTE:  

Veterans’ Disability payments are not considered 
income for this program. If VA disability rating is 

100%, only taxable income is used ($18000 limit 

for a single person, $21000 limit for married). 
 

If you are the surviving spouse of a Veteran, you 

will also qualify for these programs, as long as you 

remain single. 

 

NEW LOCAL OPTION EXEMPTION 
 

The Town has enacted a new ordinance that will 
provide property tax relief to any veteran whose 
federal adjusted gross income is fifty thousand one 
hundred dollars ($50,100) or less. Any such 
veteran shall be entitled to an exemption from the 
tax imposed on any dwelling located in the Town 
and owned and occupied by such veteran and used 
by such veteran as a primary residence in an 
amount equal to ten per cent (10%) of the 
assessed value of such primary residence. 
Applications for the new exemption are due by 
October 1. 


