Skip Navigation
This table is used for column layout.
Town Resources
  • Agendas & Minutes
  • Forms, Documents & Permits
  • Pay Bill Online
  • GIS/Maps
  • Contacts Directory
  • Subscribe to News
  • Live Stream and Recorded Video
  • Charter & Ordinances
  • Employment Opportunities
  • RFPs / Legal Notices
  • 250th Anniversary
  • Casino Development Agreement
April 17, 2008 Meeting Minutes
April 17, 2008

Attendance:     George Butenkoff, Karen Gaudreau, Joyce Phillips, Donald Arcari, (7:25) Bonnie Yosky, Edward Farrell, John Matthews, Charles Riggott, Claire Badstubner, Madeleine Thompson and First Selectman Denise Menard.
Absent: Scott Riach, Jason Bowsza

First Selectman Denise Menard called the meeting to order at 7:00 P.M.

Motion was made by George Butenkoff and seconded by Joyce Phillips to appoint Karen
Gaudreau temporary acting secretary. Motion passed unanimously.

First Selectman Denise Menard read the charge to the committee. Correction was made to
the date of the last Charter Revision from 1993 to 1998. She went on to state that there
are copies of various charters in the First Selectman’s office for the committee’s use.

George Butenkoff requested a copy of the last Charter review; First Selectman will make
that available.

First Selectman gave a list of areas of concern to be reviewed, to be used as a starting

George Butenkoff asked for a target date for the charter revisions to be voted on. Mrs.
Menard had originally thought of November 2008 in conjunction with the Presidential
Election, however after some discussion that was deemed to be not feasible.
Ed Farrell stated the changes from the last review we will be discussing can run the
gamut from strictly removing the reference to Town Administrator to blank pages.

Motion was made by George Butenkoff and seconded by Joyce Phillips to have co-chairs
of the committee.  Motion passed unanimously.

Motion was made by Joyce Phillips and seconded by Claire Badstubner to nominate
George Butenkoff as co-chair. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion was made by Bonnie Yosky and seconded by Joyce Phillips to nominate John
Matthews as co-chair. Motion passed unanimously.

General discussion centered on the following:
The need to get out and sell the Charter.
The need to explain the changes.
The need for another level of government, the need to simplify.
The need for a public hearing as required by Connecticut General Statute.
Various charters are available for our review in the First Selectman’s office.
Notices to all Boards and Commissions need to be drafted and mailed. John Matthews
will write the notice and Bonnie Yosky will send them out.

The committee was informed that monies were available to hire a recording secretary.
Several names were brought up and a decision will be made at a future meeting.

It was agreed that future meetings would be held on the second and fourth Thursday’s at
7:00 PM at the Town Hall. An end time of 9:30 PM for all meetings was agreed on.

Motion to adjourn was made by George Butenkoff and seconded by Chuck Riggott.
Meeting was declared adjourned at 7:50 PM.

Respectfully submitted,
Karen W. Gaudreau
Acting Temporary Secretary